Time to slim down! Not as big as originally planned yet still bombastic – ensemble proton bern is belatedly celebrating its 10th anniversary. New music can also be full of fun and put you in the party mood! Annette Schmucki, a master of word and language-based compositions, has been commissioned to come up with an explicitly witty and festive piece: A birthday serenade for nine instrumentalists without any instruments. The music-theatrical performance «Change» by Christian Henking, proton’s founding father and its long-standing artistic advisor, jumbled up the ensemble’s distribution of instruments and roles back in 2017. Did he ever imagine the prophetic power of his statement back then? To mark the ensemble’s 10th anniversary, «Change» brilliantly reflects the changes to ensemble proton bern with a lot of charm and good dose of humour. Tobias Krebs has written the work REFRACTIONS especially for this occasion, in which the acoustic and electronic sounds of the instruments are skilfully combined.


Henking, Christian (*1961), Change
Schmucki, Annette (*1968), drei möbelstücke (2020) UA
Krebs, Tobias (*1993), REFRACTIONS (2020) UA
Andriessen, Louis (*1939), Worker’s Union (1975)

Dirigent: Matthias Kuhn. Flöte: Bettina Berger. Oboe: Martin Bliggenstorfer. Klarinette: Richard Haynes. Fagott: Elise Jacoberger. Harfe: Vera Schnider. Klavier: Samuel Fried. Violine: Maximilian Haft. Violoncello: Jan-Filip Ťupa.
Foto: Ubezio.